A word after a word after a word is power.


Scotiabank Giller Prize

The launch of The Giller Prize coincided with a growing recognition of Canadian authors and literature both at home and abroad. Acclaimed writers such as Alice Munro, Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje and Mordecai Richler were winning honours and accolades around the world. The time seemed ripe to celebrate the success of these and other homegrown writers within these borders, with a bold statement of support and recognition.

Learn More

Key Dates to Remember

Submissions: 2018 submissions are now closed
Longlist announced: September 17
Shortlist announced: October 1
Winner announced: November 19

Learn More

#GillerPrize25 Contest

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the Scotiabank Giller Prize and we want to celebrate! Enter to win the full set of Giller Prize-winning books from 1994 – 2017.

Enter Contest

CBC Books

CBC Books, the official broadcaster of the Scotiabank Giller Prize
Take a look at CBC Books coverage and features at www.cbcbooks.ca.

Learn More