2023 Holiday Giveaway

In the spirit of the season and to celebrate an incredible year of Canadian literature, we are giving away the 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlisted books. From December 1 to December 12, we will be giving away one book each day.

2023-12-01T10:21:55-05:00Contest|Comments Off on 2023 Holiday Giveaway

Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: CS Richardson

CS Richardson's first novel, The End of the Alphabet, was an international bestseller, published in fourteen countries and ten languages, and won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Book (Canada and the Caribbean). His second novel, The Emperor of Paris, was a national bestseller, named a Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year, and longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. An award-winning book designer, CS Richardson worked in publishing for forty years. He is a multiple recipient of the Alcuin Award, Canada's highest honour for excellence in book design. He lives and writes in Toronto.

2023-09-27T14:02:02-04:00Giller Spotlight|Comments Off on Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: CS Richardson

Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: Kasia Van Schaik

Kasia Van Schaik is a South African-Canadian writer, teacher, and literary critic living in Montreal/Tiohtià:ke. She holds a PhD in Literature and teaches Creative Writing at McGill University. We Have Never Lived On Earth, a linked story collection that explores what it means to come of age in the era of environmental collapse, is her first book of fiction. It was shortlisted for the Concordia University First Book Prize and the ReLit prize. Kasia is the author of the poetry chapbook Sea Burial Laws According to Country. She received the Mona Adilman Prize for poetry related to ecological concerns, the Peterson Memorial Fiction Prize, the Quebec Federation’s Short Story Prize and has been shortlisted and longlisted for the CBC short story and nonfiction prize. Kasia’s writing has appeared in The Best Canadian Poetry Anthology, Electric Literature, The Los Angeles Review of Books, The Rumpus, PRISM International and more.

2023-09-26T13:47:55-04:00Giller Spotlight|Comments Off on Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: Kasia Van Schaik

Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: David Bergen

David Bergen is the author of eight novels and two collections of short stories. His work has been nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Impac Dublin Literary Award, and a Pushcart Prize. Among his acclaimed works are The Time in Between, which won the Scotiabank Giller Prize; The Matter with Morris, which was a finalist for the Giller Prize, the winner of the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction, and a finalist for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; The Age of Hope, which was a bestseller and a finalist for CBC Canada Reads;  and his latest, Here the Dark, a collection of short stories and a novella, which was short-listed for the Giller Prize. In 2018 Bergen was given the Writer’s Trust Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life. Bergen lives in Winnipeg.

2023-09-25T15:17:25-04:00Giller Spotlight|Comments Off on Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: David Bergen

Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: Dionne Irving

Dionne Irving is originally from Toronto, Ontario. Her work has appeared in Story, Boulevard, LitHub, Missouri Review, and New Delta Review, among other journals and magazines. Her first novel Quint came out in the fall of 2021. She currently teaches in the Creative Writing Program and the Initiative on Race and Resilience at the University of Notre Dame, and lives in Indiana with her husband and son.

2023-09-24T12:34:23-04:00Giller Spotlight|Comments Off on Scotiabank Giller Prize Spotlight: Dionne Irving