Ian Williams Will be Attending the San Miguel Writers’ Conference & Literary Festival

February 12, 2020

Twenty nineteen Scotiabank Giller Prize winner Ian Williams to make special appearance at San Miguel Writers’ Conference & Literary Festival.

February 12, 2020 (Toronto, ON) – Elana Rabinovitch, Executive Director of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, is thrilled to announce that Ian Williams, winner of the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize, will be one of the featured authors at the internationally recognized San Miguel Writers’ Conference & Literary Festival. The 15 year old festival will be held in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, from February 12 to 16, and is the largest and most prestigious cross-cultural, bilingual literary gathering in the Americas. It is world renowned for its in-depth intensive workshops, master classes, opportunities to pitch to literary agents as well as keynote addresses by esteemed authors.

Williams joins other acclaimed authors such as Tommy Orange, 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize winner Madeleine Thien, Colum McCann, Delia Owens, Juan F. Herrera and Rosa Beltran. Williams will be in conversation with renowned Canadian author Merilyn Simonds on February 16 from 2-3:30 p.m., discussing the highs and lows of literary life, the impact of prizes, and what’s next is his genre odyssey. This is the first time that the Scotiabank Giller Prize has teamed up with the Festival.

Founded by Susan Page in 2006, the San Miguel Writers’ Conference & Literary Festival is, as one attendee put it, “one of a handful of must-attend writers’ conferences in the literary world.” Each February, the San Miguel Writers’ Conference & Literary Festival attracts distinguished authors, established and emerging writers, industry experts, teaching professionals, and avid readers from the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Europe. Since its inception, some 3,000 people have attended some or all of the Conference, having gathered in San Miguel from many parts of Canada, the U.S., Mexico, and Europe.

About the Prize
The Giller Prize, founded by Jack Rabinovitch in 1994, highlights the very best in Canadian fiction year after year. In 2005, the prize teamed up with Scotiabank who increased the winnings four-fold. The Scotiabank Giller Prize now awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English, and $10,000 to each of the finalists. The award is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller by her husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch, who passed away in August 2017.


Media enquiries:
Elana Rabinovitch, Scotiabank Giller Prize
T – 416 275 5418

Daphna Rabinovitch, Scotiabank Giller Prize
T – 416 525 3752