Celebrating Women Authors Who Have Won the Scotiabank Giller Prize

March 8, 2019

In honour of International Women’s Day, we want to celebrate the women authors who have won the Scotiabank Giller Prize since 1994. These women have helped put Canadian literature on the map for international readers and we are so proud of their accomplishments.

Margaret Atwood

In 1996, Margaret Atwood won the Giller Prize for her novel, Alias Grace which has since been turned into a television mini-series. Testaments, the sequel to her best-selling novelThe Handmaid’s Tale will be released in September 2019.

Bonnie Burnard

Bonnie Burnard won the Giller Prize in 1999, for her debut novel A Good House. Her collection of short stories, Casino & Other Stories was shortlisted in 1994, the same year the Prize was established.

Lynn Coady

Lynn Coady’s, Hell Going won the Scotiabank Giller Prize in 2013. Her novel, The Antagonist was shortlisted for the Prize in 2011.

Esi Edugyan

Esi Edugyan is one of two women authors to win the Scotiabank Giller Prize twice. Her first win came in 2011 for her novel, Half-Blood Blues, the second was in 2018, for Washington Black.

Elizabeth Hay

In 2007, Elizabeth Hay won the Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel, Late Nights on Air. A Student of Weather was shortlisted for the Prize in 2000. Elizabeth was a member of the jury in 2005 and 2006.

Alice Munro

Alice Munro has won the Giller Prize twice – in 1998 for The Love of a Good Woman and in 2004 for Runaway. She was also the recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2013.

Johanna Skibsrud

Johanna Skibsrud won the Prize in 2010, for her debut novel The Sentimentalists. Johanna’s most recent book, Tiger, Tiger was published in 2018.

Madeleine Thien

In 2016, Madeleine Thien won the Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel, Do Not Say We Have Nothing which has been translated into 25 languages.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn for the latest Scotiabank Giller Prize news.